Cory Parr Pro Transition Blog #6 – Mexico

The following wsa posted by Cory on GEM Tennis on October 6th:

Hi everyone. Right now, I’m sitting in my hotel room in Monterrey Mexico. I came over here to Mexico with my doubles partner Todd Paul. Todd and I have been doing very well together, so we figured we would travel together over here to try and continue our success. This is our third and final week here in Mexico. This is the first time in my tennis career that I have competed in professional tournaments outside of the country. Overall it has been a great experience. I have learned a lot from being out here and I’ve had some success picking up some ATP points in both singles and doubles to help boost up my ranking. At these tournaments, picking up ATP points is what everyone is after, not the money. The money is pretty bad. The more points you accumulate, the higher your ranking gets. The idea is to grind through these futures events to help build up your ranking to get into challenger events, and then the ultimate goal, to get into ATP events.

My first week in Mexico was in a city named Leon. Leon is a pretty nice city, however it was almost impossible to find someone in Leon that spoke any english. Thanks to Leon, my Spanish had to improve tramendously. One thing that was very different about playing in Leon was the altitude. Playing in altitude is very different than playing in normal conditions that I am used to. In Leon, we were about 5,000 feet above sea level. Playing in that type of altitude makes the balls fly through the air a lot quicker. I had to string my racquet 5 pounds tighter than normal. I made that adjustment, because a lot of my shots were landing deep out of the court with my normal tension. It took a few days to get used to the conditions, but getting to Leon 3 days before the tournament started gave us a chance to get a lot of practice sessions in. In Leon, I was able to qualify for the main draw by winning 2 qualifying matches. I then faced a Mexican named Antonio Rouiz. Because Antonio is one of the better Mexican players, I played the night match on the clubs stadium court. It was a good experience for me, playing in front of a bunch of Mexican fans that were all cheering against me. I was fortunate to win my first round in 3 sets. My second round on the other hand I fell to the number 6 seed 7-5 in the third set. In doubles, Todd and I had continued our success together by reaching the semifinals, but losing a tough 3 set match. This ended our 4 tournament professional circuit unbeaten streak together. It was a little upsetting, but we were definitely due for a loss. We knew that we needed to learn from the match and use it to get us better.

After being in Leon, we then took a four and a half hour bus ride, to the next tournament city, Zacatacus. This bus we went on was unbelievable. I would have never thought that traveling on a bus through Mexico would have been so nice. I felt like I was sitting first class on an airplane. This bus had reclining chairs that made me feel like I was in bed, and the bus also had wireless internet. Definitely not what I was expecting. I did not have much time to get used to the new city that I was in because since we were still in doubles so late in Leon, qualifying for the next tournament started the next day after I arrived in Zacatacus. I did a little better at this tournament. In singles, I won 2 rounds to qualify and and then reached the quarterfinals of the main draw. In doubles, Todd and I started playing a little better together than the previous week as we won the tournament. This tournament was more of a success as I was able to pick up more singles and doubles points than I did in Leon the week before.

Because I was at the tournament the last day in Zacatacus, due to the doubles final, I had to take a bus with Todd that went through the night in order to get to Monterrey. We took the same amazing ETN bus as we did last week, but we left left Zacatacus at midnight, and then arrived in Monterrey at 7 AM. Not a fun night, but since my singles ranking is not high enough to be directly accepted into the main draw of singles, I had to make it to qualifying. So, I arrived in Monterrey at 7 AM and had to play my first qualifying match at noon. Was not a fun day, but this is part of the grind. I am very happy to say that I was able to get through it with a win. Today I won my final qualifying singles match. I play in the main draw on Wednesday against a guy from Holland named Millian Niestan. Hopefully I will be able to end my trip to Mexico on a good note picking up some more ATP points. That is all for now.

CP

Leave a Reply

