Cory Parr Pro Transition Blog #5 – Summer Recap

The following was posted by Cory on GEM Tennis on August 13th:

Hi everyone. I know it has been a while but I have not always had an internet connection in the places I have been. Right now I am at Wake Forest University. I am relaxing here for a few days visiting my girlfriend and practicing. It has been a pretty good summer. I’ve been on the road 5 out of the last 6 weeks. My first tournament started off in Rochester, then the next week was Pittsburgh, then Joplin Missouri, Godfrey Illinois, and finally, Decatur Illinois.

My last post came during my last night in Joplin. After Joplin, my doubles partner Todd and his coach Gwinyai drove 4 hours to Godfrey Illinois. Godfrey again was a successful tournament in doubles for Todd and I as we won the tournament. Not bad going back to back weeks with doubles wins. In singles on the other hand I lost a tough match in the first round 7-6, 6-3. It was a tough match that I definitely thought I could have won, but just did not convert on the big points to come out on top. I’m hoping that I use all of these matches, whether I win or lose, as learning experiences that will help me in the future. If there is one thing I have learned about these tough losses, it is that you cannot dwell on them because there is a tournament the next week and you have to start focusing and gearing up toward that next week. During these tournaments you see guys who have been losing first round week after week, and then all of a sudden they get to the semis or finals a few weeks later. Tennis is just a bizzare sport like that where things just fall in place and good things happen if you have the right mentality and keep working hard. Tennis is also a huge confidence game where you can tell which players that you are watching are playing with confidence and which players are not.

After Godfrey, for our final week we drove an hour and a half to Decatur Illinois. Todd and I had another great run together in doubles as we won the tournament for a third straight week. Todd and I are pretty happy with our three weeks of work together in doubles going 12-0. Sinlges was a better week for me. In the first round, I drew the 4th seed who was the same opponent (Matej Bocko) whom I lost to in Joplin 2 weeks earlier. I guess I ended up learning a little from my previous loss winning 6-2, 6-3, after losing 6-4, 6-2 last time. In the second round I also played a guy who I have also lost to previously at the NCAA sweet 16 against Baylor in college. This time I also got a little revenge winning the match 6-4, 6-3, after previously losing 6-2, 6-2 a few months earlier. In the quarterfinals I ended up losing to Arnau Brugues from Spain 6-4, 6-1, who eventually won the tournament. I felt that I had my chances in the first set however he took it to another level in the second set and I was not playing well enough to match it.

All in all, I am pretty happy with the way the three weeks have went. I’m especially happy with the way doubles has gone winning all of the tournaments that I have played this summer. More importantly, I have learned so much traveling and being at these tournaments every week. There are so many good players out here trying to make it playing tennis. You can really see that the players who are focused and working hard are the ones that are seeing the better results. That is really important for me to see as this is still a learning process for me at the start of my professional career . I hope to use these past few weeks as motivation in my training to do everything that I can possibly do make it on tour.

For my next tournament I am going to sign into the qualifying for the ATP tournament in New Haven. I’ll also try and get a wildcard into doubles with Todd at the tournament. That is all for now. Thanks for your support!

CP

Leave a Reply

